Professor Elijah Oyeyemi

Professor Elijah Oyeyemi

Head of Department

Prospective Students


The Department of Physics is one of the foundation departments in the School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences that was established in October 1964. It was one of the two schools in the then Faculty of Science. It produced the B.Sc. Honours Degree in Physics at inception in 1966. The Senate approved a new degree structure based on course units in 1974, and in 1978 the Department started a four-year program in Applied Physics with Options in Electronics, and Geophysics.

The Department currently offers courses in the following areas:

B.Sc. (Honours) Physics

B.Sc. (Honours) Applied Physics (Electronics)

The B.Sc. (Honours) Applied Physics (Geophysics) programme was moved to the newly created Department of Geosciences in 2009.