Khalid O. Adekoya, Ph.D

Khalid O. Adekoya, Ph.D

Head of Department

Prospective Students


The department of Biology was instituted in 1966 as the third department in the defunct School of Biological Sciences. The other departments were Botany and Zoology. In its early years, the department was

responsible for the Preliminary Biology, Medicine and related disciplines, NCE (Biology) and B.Sc. Education Biology programmes. Consequent on a deliberate recruitment of the requisite staff by the department, the senate in 1971/72 approved a B.Sc. (Hons) degree in Biology.

In 1973/74, the School of Biological Sciences and Mathematical & Physical Sciences were fused into a Faculty of Science, and the departments of Biology, Botany and Zoology became units in the department of Biological Sciences.

Various changes and administrative considerations were made on the units leading to merging and sorting out from 1983 to 2001. The department of Cell Biology and Genetics as currently constituted was established in 2001 following the restructuring of the defunct Department of Biological Sciences, a Biology programme leading to both undergraduate and post graduate degrees had existed in the University for over 40 years.

The Departmental status should therefore provide a basis for the concomitant growth, advancement, development and expansion of nascent, emergent and contemporary areas of modern Biology such as genetics, cell and molecular biology, biotechnology, molecular systematics and bioinformatics, ecology and environmental biology.