Victor J. Odjegba,Ph.D

Victor J. Odjegba,Ph.D

Head of Department

Prospective Students

Welcome to the Department of Botany

Botany was one of the foundation departments of the Faculty of Science at inception in 1964 (the first Vice-Chancellor, Prof Eni Njoku, being a reputable Botanist of international stature) when the faculty was composed of the school of Biological Sciences and the school of Mathematical and Physical Sciences. In October 1967, the two schools became autonomous teaching units each with its own Dean and Board of studies, but they worked closely together through a joint Board. They also cooperated with the then college of Education in running B.Sc. (Education) programme. The two schools together with the then institute of computer science were merged in October 1973 to re-constitute the present Faculty of Science and the departments of Biology, Botany and Zoology operated as units within the new department of Biological Sciences. Each unit ran its own academic programme independent of the Department which only coordinated the activities of the three units.

In 1985, another degree awarding unit (Microbiology) was added to the department. Marine Biology and Fisheries made its debut in 1991 as yet another degree awarding unit. Thus, Biological Sciences became a mega department, the equivalent of a Faculty in many other Universities, with an academic staff establishment of fifty-four (54) along with one hundred and twenty one (121) administrative and technical staff. Each of the units awarded four degrees (B.Sc., M.Sc., M.Phil. and Ph.D). The department of Biological Sciences therefore ran twenty (20) degree programmes at that time.