Faculty of Science

About the Department Of Microbiology

The UNESCO Advisory Commission for the establishment of the University of Lagos, in its report, recommended the establishment of a Faculty of science ‘as soon as possible’ not only to provide basic science training for its own sake, but also for the applied Science Faculties of Engineering and Medicine, as well as training of teachers; in view of the strong case made in the Ashby Commission Report for increasing the number of graduate teachers in Nigeria. The first phase in the development of the University began with the establishment of the Faculty of Science in October 1964. In October 1967, the Faculty was split into two schools i.e., the School of Biological Sciences, and the School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences. Although the two schools were autonomous teaching units, each with its own Dean and Board of Studies; but they worked closely together through a joint Board of Studies. They also cooperated with the then College of Education in running B.Sc. (Education) programme. With effect from October 1973, the two schools along with the then Institute of Computer Science were finally merged to re-constitute the present Faculty of Science.

Vision & Mission

Academic Staff

Non-Academic Staff